And… New Mongrel Midfield Champion – Chad Warner!

All good things must come to an end.

We’ve all been fans of the way Will Brodie has conducted himself in the Freo midfield this season, but to say his Mongrel Midfield Title win over Christian Petracca back in Round 11 was a surprise would be an understatement.

Since then, Brodie has turned back challenges from Brisbane, Hawthorn, Carlton, Port Adelaide, and St Kilda.

But he couldn’t get past Sydney, and he couldn’t get past Chad Warner.

With a dominant midfield display, Warner knocked over the the champ as his Swans knocked over the Dockers. As such, we have a new Mongrel Midfield Champion.

Warner joins Josh Kennedy, Luke Parker, and Callum Mills as Swans who have held the title.

All hail Chad Warner.

His first defence is against Rory Laird, Sam Berry and the Adelaide Crows.



The world loves a winner.

Except for the losers, I guess. But the rest of us love a winner, and following the 2021 season, one man reigned over all others.

Christian Petracca stood on the podium with another two medals stemming from his best-afield performance in the Grand Final. The best player on the best team in the biggest game of the year – he was the undisputed champion of AFL midfielders.

However, with a new season comes new challenges… and new challengers to the title.

As we entered 2022, the Mongrel Punt Midfielder Championship Belt is fastened tightly around the waist of the Melbourne champ, but every battle, every week would call on him to defend it. And all it takes is a bad day for his grip to loosen on that which he made his at the conclusion of the 2021 season.

The Mongrel Punt Midfield Championship is a bit of fun – let’s be honest, but it’s a bit of fun that adds a little bit of interest to each and every game the champ competes in. Who, if anyone can beat the champ?

Each week, the champ defends his title in this system. In order to unseat him, firstly, the challenging team has to win. Like in Pro Wrestling, the title cannot change hands on a disqualification,  so if you have a great performance, but your team loses, you can’t take the title. You have to beat the champ in a win. You have to outperform the champ in a win to take the title off him.

The individual win has to be comprehensive. If a challenger has 26 touches and a goal and the champ has something similar, we call it a draw and the champ gets the benefit of the doubt to retain the title. You either win decisively, or you don’t win at all.

So, who will dominate the midfield in the 2022 season and turn back challengers week after week? Who will reign like Hulk Hogan or Ric Flair? And who will be an interim champ… like Kane, or the Iron Sheik?

Let’s jump in and find out.

Note – at the conclusion of the weekly update, a full championship history, spanning from 2017 to the current day is available, including a full history of title reigns and most successful defences, etc… We are now at 8K+ words in this baby, and the history grows every week.


The Mongrel Punt Midfielder Championship Belt is a column for our Mongrel Members.  They also get five other exclusive columns per week as well as access to HB’s game reviews early. Wanna join them and support the best damn independent footy site you’ll find?

Want more of this kind of stuff? Join The Mongrel to get it!